Author Topic: Sharktooth Hill for the Holidays  (Read 6446 times)

Latimeria

• Administrator
  • Tax Man
  • Posted for Fame, Poached by Lame
    • View Profile
Sharktooth Hill for the Holidays
« on: December 30, 2015, 08:17:13 AM »
I made reservations a month ago, but wasn't sure if I could swing it or not.  Before I knew it, I was two days away!  My wife even reminded me of it because I had a lot on my plate and it got lost in my brain.

First things first, my back and shoulder are still in bad shape, so I needed something to ease the impact of fossil hunting.  We did not pay for "premium" spots as they were an extra $20 a square foot to dig and I've been hunting this property since the 1990's and knew where to go.  The best way to maximize our time was to sift and I needed to build a sifter that would be easy on me. 

I looked up a few types and figured I would build a "rocking sifter".  I decided to wing it since I wanted to customize it for what I was going to be using it for.  I must say, it came out really sweet!  It is 4X tough too which I like for only being 3/4" wood except for the foot prop.

Framing.

Supports

Legs

Pinning on the mesh

Securing the mesh for the weight.

Rocker sifter completed!

Time to rise and shine!  We had to leave by 3:15 am to get there on time.  Kevin couldn't make it so it was just Eric and I.  Dr. Zaius (My truck) was packed and ready to go.  It's a long ass ride up there which takes about 4 hours and 15 minutes on average with NO traffic.
We got up there to ice puddles and freezing cold, but we were the first ones in line.

The Miocene Motherland!

Made some coffee while we waited for our host to show.

I really wanted to hunt the East Quarry as it is the best of the quarries on his land, but we were forced to hunt slow curve.  Only one person from Texas got to go over there.